Governing Board

Members of the Governing Board

Start of Term

Term Ends

One Authority Governor

Dave Cupit 01/10/2016 01/10/2020

Seven Co-opted Governors

Alison Termie 01/03/2018 01/03/2021
Liz Moody 23/11/2017 23/11/2020
Gillian Tomlinson 23/11/2017 23/11/2020
Dean Walker 23/11/2017 23/11/2020
Cara Williams 23/11/2017 23/11/2020
Graham Fletcher-Shaw 23/11/2017 23/11/2020

Four Parent Governors

Kath Mackay 05/02/2016 05/02/2019
Chris Grove 07/03/2018 07/03/2021
Brett Parker 12/12/2016 12/12/2019
Sarah Heyes 07/03/2018 07/03/2021

Staff Governors

Sue Clarke 23/11/2017 23/11/2020
Claire Whetstone (Headteacher)

Total Number of Governors Post : 14
Current Number of Governors : 13
Number Required for Quorum : 7

Each year Governors are asked to declare all business and financial interests that they, or members of their family, have that might conflict with their role on the Governing Board.

If you wish to contact any of the Governing body, you can do so by contacting the school.

The Role of the Governing Board is:

  • Ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • Hold senior leaders to account for the educational performance, and the performance management of staff
  • Oversee the financial performance and make sure its money is well spent

The Governing Board has a committee structure and committees have delegated powers to make decisions about the school. Committee decisions and meetings are reported to the full Governing Board.

The duties and membership of governance committees at New Mills Primary are listed below:

The Governing Board and each committee chooses a person to perform the role of the Chair. Their purpose is to lead the work of the relevant committee and ensure it operates effectively.

Duties include:

  • Chairing an effective meeting
  • Helping members of the committee to work as a team
  • Reporting back to the Governing Board, where applicable